With the close of its fiscal year on May 31, WBA welcomes its newest members to the Board of Directors. Ken Thompson, president and CEO of Capitol Bank, Madison, has been selected to become the 2019-2020 WBA Vice Chair by the WBA Nominating Committee. Thompson is now in line to become WBA chair in 2021-2022.

Also serving as officers on this year's WBA Board of Directors are: Chair Mark Meloy, First Business Bank, Madison; Chair-Elect Paul Kohler, Charter Bank, Eau Claire; and Past Chair David Werner, Park Bank, Milwaukee.

The nominating committee, which is comprised of the current WBA officers and the four most recent past chairmen, also selected the following four candidates to fill open seats on the 16-member WBA Board of Directors, all of whom have been deemed elected by the membership: Al Araque, JPMorgan Chase Bank, New Berlin (At-Large); Mark Erickson, MidWestOne Bank, Osceola (At-Large); Timothy Kotnour, State Bank Financial, La Crosse (Group 1); and Mark Wierman, Ixonia Bank (Group 3). In addition, the nominating committee selected James Chatterton, National Exchange Bank, Fond du Lac (At-Large) to fill the one-year unexpired term remaining on Thompson's board seat. 

Continuing on the board are: Christopher Del Moral-Niles, Associated Bank, Green Bay; Donna Hoppenjan, Mound City Bank, Platteville; Jerry Jacobson, Northwestern Bank, Chippewa Falls; Daniel Peterson, The Stephenson National Bank and Trust, Marinette; Thomas Reil, Waldo State Bank; Scot Thompson, Denmark State Bank; and Tom Van Pelt, Citizens State Bank, Hudson.

WBA would also like to thank Cynthia Erdman, Partnership Bank, Tomah; Sang Kim, BMO Harris Bank, Milwaukee; Scott Kopp, Bluff View Bank, Galesville; Mark Mohr, First Bank Financial Centre, Oconomowoc; and Marty Reinhart, Partners Bank, Marshfield, who are rotating off the board this year, for their dedicated service to the association and the industry.

New Board Members         Mark Erickson profile

The newest members of the WBA Board of Directors gathered for a photo after their orientation meeting at WBA headquarters in Madison on May 7. Pictured top (left to right) are: Kotnour, Wierman, Chatterton, and Araque. Erickson (pictured bottom) was unable to attend.