This month, Wisconsinites will go to polls to select who will be on the final ballot in April. And by Wisconsinites, I mean the 15% (at best) who will turn out to vote in the primary. While everyone will vote for Justice of the Supreme Court, others may or may not vote for Court of Appeals Judge, Circuit Court Judge, and a variety of county, town, village, and city positions. 

Since these are non-partisan races, a primary will only be held if more than two candidates file for the same position. If it looks like you don't have many races on your ballot, there may still be an election for other offices in your area in April!

State Supreme Court

Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice Daniel Kelly
Justice Kelly was appointed by Wisconsin Governor Scott Walker to the Wisconsin Supreme Court to fill the unexpired term of Justice David Prosser upon his retirement. Kelly graduated from Carroll University and the Regent University School of Law. Before his appointment, he was the founding partner of Rogahn Kelly LLC and a shareholder at Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren, s.c. in Milwaukee. 

Dane County Circuit Court Judge Jill Karofsky
Karofsky earned her bachelor's degree from Duke University. She holds a master's degree and J.D. from the University of Wisconsin. Karofsky was the education director and general counsel for the National Conference of Bar Examiners from 2001 to 2010. She was the executive director for the Wisconsin Office of Crime Victim Services at the time of her election. She was elected to the Dane County Circuit Court in 2017 to a term ending in 2023.

Marquette Law Professor Ed Fallone
Fallone is a law professor at Marquette University and also practices with Gonzalez, Saggio & Harlan LLP. Fallone earned a B.A., summa cum laude, in the Spanish language & literature and a J.D., magna cum laude, from Boston University. He was previously a candidate for Supreme Court in 2013 where he was defeated by incumbent Justice Patience Roggensack 57%-43%. 

Special 7th Congressional District Primary

For those in the 26 counties comprising the 7th Congressional District, the normal Spring Primary Election date will also serve as the primary for the special election primary for both the Republicans and Democrats to select their candidates to replace Congressman Sean Duffy (R). Republicans will choose between State Senator Tom Tiffany and U.S. Army veteran Jason Church. Democrats will choose between salesman Lawrence Dale and Wausau School Board Member Tricia Zunker

To see what is on your ballot, check out

Turke is WBA director – government relations.