On June 3, the 2020-2021 WBA Board of Directors convened for the first time. It was also the first virtual Board Installation ceremony in the association’s history. WBA President and CEO Rose Oswald Poels welcomed the bankers and WBA staff gathered for the digital event and thanked them for their willingness to serve. “The reason for our success is the strong leadership of our Board of Directors, an engaged membership, and the staff from WBA, FIPCO, EBC, and MBIS,” she said. 

Then, Oswald Poels invited new Chair Paul Kohler to outline his goals for his term. Kohler emphasized the need for adaptation and innovation in the post-pandemic world. “The world is very different from just a few months ago, and there is no going back,” he said. “This is not a temporary situation.” 

WBA and its member banks must evolve, Kohler urged. One of his primary goals for his term is to expand the banking workforce, develop current bankers, and educate lawmakers and regulators about the industry. 

Kohler also expressed his pride in serving the community as a banker. “The communities we serve look to us for stability and leadership during times of challenge and change,” he said. “We are lifelines for our communities.” 

Watch for a longer introduction to Kohler and more details about his priorities for WBA this year to be published in the coming weeks. 

See this year’s board at www.wisbank.com/about/board-of-directors.

The 2020-2021 WBA Board of Directors:  

Chair Paul Kohler, president and CEO of Charter Bank, Eau Claire; Chair-Elect Ken Thompson, president and CEO of Capitol Bank, Madison; Vice Chair Daniel Peterson, President/CEO of The Stephenson National Bank & Trust, Marinette; and Past Chair Mark Meloy, CEO of First Business Bank, Madison.  

Al Araque, executive director – market director banking, JPMorgan Chase Bank, New Berlin; Jim Chatterton, president of National Exchange Bank & Trust, Fond du Lac; Mark Erickson, regional president, MidWestOne Bank, Osceola; Donna Hoppenjan, president & CEO, Mound City Bank, Platteville; Jerry Jacobson, president, Northwestern Bank, Chippewa Falls; Timothy Kotnour, president & CEO, State Bank Financial, La Crosse; Paul Northway, president/CEO of American National Bank Fox Cities, Appleton; Joseph Peikert, president/CEO of Wolf River Community Bank, Hortonville; Jenny Provancher, president and chief financial officer of The Equitable Bank, S.S.B., Wauwatosa; Thomas A. Reil, president, Waldo State Bank; Teresa Rosengarten, president/chief operating officer of Unity Bank, Augusta; and Mark Wierman, president, Ixonia Bank.