Wisconsin Building Better Bankers
Half of National Bank Award Recipients Are From Wisconsin

(MADISON) – The Independent Community Bankers of America (ICBA) has announced another Wisconsin banker as the recipient of its national Community Banker of the Year award. This is the second banker from Wisconsin to receive this award since its inception in 2014. 

“Wisconsin has a long tradition of bankers devoted to serving their communities by helping businesses grow and families prosper,” said Rose Oswald Poels, president/CEO of the Wisconsin Bankers Association (WBA). “It’s fantastic to see the quality of Wisconsin bankers recognized on a national level.”

“We’ve always said Wisconsin has some of the best bankers in the country, so we’re not surprised fifty percent of the recipients of this prestigious award are from the Badger State.”

Joe Fazio, chairman and CEO of Commerce State Bank, West Bend, was announced as the 2017 ICBA Community Banker of the Year on Oct. 16, 2017. Mark Mohr, president/CEO of First Bank Financial Centre, Oconomowoc, received the same recognition in 2015. 

This annual ICBA award recognizes the exceptional work and commitment of individual community bank employees and their dedication to local communities. ICBA seeks nominations from community bankers, customers and community leaders to identify passionate, innovative and savvy community bankers for this prestigious award. This is the fourth annual Community Banker of the Year award the association has presented.